Zune hacks are a no-go.

13Nov07

Turns out the new Zune 2.0 player is not affected by simple registry hacks. I’ve spent some time today looking around to see if adding in MPEG and Divx file types to the new Zune 2.0 software. Turns out I wasn’t able to succeed. As you can see from the screenshot I was able to have the Divx file type appear but unable to have the Zune software import any  AVI files.

Zune Screenshot

At this time do NOT use the registry hacks from before they will not work, they will add no functionality whatsoever to the Zune 2.0 software. I’m going to leave the files up for now but will add a disclaimer to the top of the Zune page. If I find something that does work I’ll certainly post immediately.

2 Responses to “Zune hacks are a no-go.”

  1. 1 kevin

    just curious. have you heard if it is possible to sync dvr-ms files on xp? i know its standard on vista and i have been looking for a workaround for xp but haven’t found one yet.

    thanks.

  2. I’m afraid I can’t help. I’ve moved all my computers to Vista and have no way of assisting you. There is talk on how to downgrade Zune 2.0 back to Zune 1.0. I can vouch that I was able to get XP dvr-ms shows to convet in Zune 1.0.

    Sorry I don’t have better words of wisdom.


Leave a Reply

